What's new
What's new

New would-be lathe owner seeks advice- Ancient South Bend Vs. Merely Old Logan

JetMech

Plastic

Dear Practical Machinists-

Yet another of these posts. “How much is this lathe worth. . .Tell me what to do. . . Make my decision for me. . .” Heh heh yeah right.

Anyway I do have a desire to buy a lathe, and I wanted to get the input of the knowledgeable folks populating the premier site on machining. If flattery won’t buy your help, well- let's hope flattery works. All my web research indicates that this is where serious metal turners hang.

I’m a veteran of other forums by now so one thing I think those that would give advice will really appreciate is a help-seeker that has given some detail and done at least some homework. I may go overboard on the detail, and we'll see if my research passes muster, but first the background:

I’m in Olathe, KS 66061. I'm an A&P mechanic by trade but want a lathe and eventually a mill to fill out my fabrication capabilities. Looking into welders as well, but that’s whole different forum. I am quite mechanically inclined but I just want a hobby lathe to play with, and have never had formal training. I used to use the $500 Chinese lathe at work quite a bit, but left that job and I’m not allowed to use the $30,000 lathe they just bought at my new work. (Dammit.) People keep asking me what I’m going to make, and really, I don’t know. But I see a need for a lathe at least weekly. For example, I drilled out a pulley to make it bigger, didn’t think the keyway would matter. Anyone care to guess what happened? (I learn new things everyday. . .) Now I need a lathe. . . Sure, the new pulley would be $30 instead of new-lathe-price but I shouldn’t have to explain to you guys why I’d like to fix it myself, along with everything else.